Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Miles Davis, Live at the Shaboo Inn, Willimantic, Connecticut, January 26, 1974 (ER158)

Another great post over at Elastic Rock. This is an intense recording of the funk collective at it's most cohesive. Personnel is:
Miles Davis (tpt, org)
David Liebman (ss, ts, fl)
Pete Cosey (g, perc)
Reggie Lucas (g)
Michael Henderson (el-b)
Al Foster (d)
James Mtume Forman (cga, perc)

First Set
1 For Dave (M. Davis) 15:43
2 Turnaroundphrase (M. Davis) 16:41
3 Tune in 5 (M. Davis) 8:37
4 Agharta Prelude (M. Davis) 10:53

Second Set
1 Ife (M. Davis) 21:38
2 Turnaroundphrase (M. Davis) 16:32
3 For Dave (M. Davis) 18:57
4 Calypso Frelimo (M. Davis) 13:33



  2. Wow, this recording was made by Dave Liebman I think. It sounds very good. I had tried to get it from the other blog you mentioned, but it never worked. I'm really glad to hear it, it sounds great.